Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hey remember me, the crazy muffin lady? It’s been awhile because I did something called “getting a job” and it has really cut into my leisure baking time. I am still baking up a storm I’m just a little more focused on getting the job done and moving on to the next thing. I had the day off today so I thought I would share (yet another) muffin recipe with you. These are delicious…lightly maple sweetened, packed with whole grains, and a little toothsome crunch from the pecans…pure muffin perfection.

Carrot Bran Muffins

dry ingredients:

1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup wheat bran

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1 Tbsp. ground cinnamon

1 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp. allspice

1/2 tsp. salt

wet ingredients:

1 Tbsp. chia seeds

2/3 cup orange juice

2/3 cup pure maple syrup

1/3 cup vegetable oil (or sub applesauce)

1/4 cup coconut milk (or other non-dairy milk)

fold in:

1-1/2 cups grated carrots (about 3 good sized ones)

1/2 cup roughly chopped pecans

Combine dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl, set aside.

Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl or large measuring cup, whisking until well combined.

Add the wet to the dry mixing until just combined. Fold in the carrots and pecans.

Divide batter evenly among a prepared 12 cup muffin pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 22-26 minutes. Transfer muffins to a cooling rack to cool completely.

