Tags

, , , ,

I am still amazed whenever I meet someone who says they don’t eat breakfast. There’s not enough time, I’m just not hungry in the morning, or I just don’t like breakfast…excuses, excuses, excuses! I thought everyone had gotten the memo about breakfast being the most important meal of the day. Here is a great smoothie that can be made in a few minutes and is jam packed with goodness galore. I run every morning and I needed something that would give me some energy but not sit in a lump in my stomach. It has evolved over time but I have had this smoothie every morning for the past 6 months and still love it. Give it a try, and if you’re really in such a hurry in the morning you can just drink it right out of the blender!

No Excuses Banana-Berry Smoothie

½ cup frozen sliced banana (Potassium!)

½ cup frozen blueberries (Antioxidants!)

½ cup orange juice (Vitamin C!)

½ unsweetened almond milk (Vitamin D!)

1 tablespoon raw wheat germ (Vitamin E!)

1 tablespoon ground flax seed (Omega-3 fatty acids!)

1 tablespoon protein powder (Protein, duh!)

1 teaspoon stevia extract (optional, but adds a little sweetness with no extra calories!)

Add all ingredients to your blender and blend! Makes 1 large smoothie.

Some tips: I usually just buy an extra bunch of bananas every week and slice them and freeze them at once, a Ziploc freezer bag works fine. One half a cup of bananas is about equal to half a banana. I use the frozen wild blueberries they have at Trader Joe’s because they are small and less stressful for my overworked blender. Oh yeah, also make sure you brush your teeth after you drink your smoothie otherwise you will leave the house with your teeth covered in blueberry bits, and if your kids are anything like mine they won’t say a word.

