Tags

, , ,

There is no school today so we (I) spent a little more time on breakfast this morning. I don’t do cutesy food too often mainly because mine never end up looking as good as the original. These are pretty cute though, and this is the closest my kids will ever get to having a puppy.  For the whipped cream I used a tofu whipped topping from the Uncheese book. I think the kids thought that was the best part. Seriously yummy.

Peanut Butter Pupcakes

1-1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1-1/4 cups soy milk

1/4 cup peanut butter (I used creamy, but I think chunky would be just as good)

3 tablespoons melted vegan butter (I use Earth Balance)

Whipped topping of your choice

handful of vegan chocolate chips

fruit leather, flavor doesn’t matter as long as it’s red

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. In a small bowl combine peanut butter, soy milk and melted butter. Add the wet ingredients to the dry until just combined. Cook pancakes as usual on a lightly oiled griddle or skillet. You will need 3 pancakes per puppy, one for the face, one cut in half for the ears and one smaller (or one trimmed into a smaller oval shape) one for the nose. Trim one end of the fruit leather to a rounded shape for the tongue and add chocolate chips for the eyes and nose. This yielded enough for 3 puppies.


