Tags

, ,

Man oh man, it is a rainy day here in Portland, a perfect day for baking! I hadn’t tried too many versions of Irish Soda Bread before I started making this one, so I’m not really sure how traditional the recipe is, but this stuff is so wonderful that I never felt compelled to try any other recipes. I adapted this version from the recipe in Vegetarian Classics and it is absolutely a family favorite.

Irish Soda Bread

1-1/2 cup soy milk

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

½ cup sugar

¾ tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

4 Tbsp vegan margarine (such as Earth Balance)

1 cup raisins

1-1/2 Tbsp caraway seeds

In a small bowl combine soy milk and vinegar, mix well and leave to thicken for a few minutes. Combine flours, sugar, salt and baking soda. Add the margarine and break into small pea sized pieces; I use a whisk or a fork for this. Stir in raisins and caraway seeds, and then add the soy milk mixture mixing until combined. Transfer batter to a prepared 8 in. cake pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 50-60 minutes.

 

