Tags

, ,

These are my take on zucchini bread in cookie form. They turned out quite delicious and got a very enthusiastic thumbs up from Dylan who is our resident zucchini bread fanatic. I have a tendency to go heavy on the sweets this time of year so the addition of zucchini makes me feel a little better amount the amount of treats I have been churning out lately.

Zucchini Spice Cookies

1 cup grated zucchini, about one small to medium size zucchini

1 cup sugar

½ cup non hydrogenated vegetable shortening

¼ cup blended silken tofu

2 cups flour, use any combination of whole wheat pastry and all purpose you like, I used all whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp ground cloves

½ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp salt

1 cup chopped nuts, I used walnuts but pecans or a combo would be nice also

1 cup raisins

Beat shortening and sugar until smooth and fluffy, add zucchini and beat until blended, beat in tofu. Combine flour, baking soda, spices and salt and add to wet ingredients. Fold in nuts and raisins. Drop by tablespoons onto a prepared baking sheet. Bake in 375 degree oven for about 13 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool.

Enjoy these with a Gingersnap Latte, I know I did…

