Tags

, , ,

So I was just sitting down to study for a final I have on Friday and grabbed one of these cookies off the cooling rack. Well I happen to find them to be so tasty I thought I had better come and alert the public of their sheer wonderfulness instead of study (public service or procrastination, you decide…) I adapted this recipe from the back of the bag of Bob’s Red Mill hulled hemp seeds. Hemp seeds are apparently quite good for you: protein, Omega-3’s and they contain all the essential amino acids, not bad.

Hemp Oatmeal Cookies

1 Tbsp. ground flax seed

3 Tbsp. warm water

1/3 cup vegan margarine (I use Earth Balance)

3/4 – 1 cup sugar depending on how sweet you like them

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 cup hulled hemp seeds

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp. baking soda

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup golden raisins

First mix your ground flax and water in a small bowl and whisk until frothy, set aside. Using a hand mixer cream the margarine and sugar until smooth, add the flax mixture and the vanilla and beat until it gets nice and creamy. In a separate small mix flour, baking soda, hemp seeds, and oats. Add dry ingredients to the wet and mix until combined, fold in the raisins. Using a tablespoon scoop onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for about 14 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack.

 

 

