Tags

, , ,

Portlanders are known for being avid recyclers and that is no exception when it comes to food. I really hate wasting food and try my hardest to avoid it. I found myself in a stand off with a particularly visually unappealing container of leftover oatmeal this morning and was determined to make something good from it. I knew there was no way I could pass it off to anyone in my house as-is, truth be told nobody was all that excited about it in the first place. In fact, this “oatmeal” was not actually oatmeal at all but was a combo of millet, brown rice and wheat berries with raisins and apples that had been cooked overnight in my slow cooker. I thought it was pretty tasty and frankly a nice change from oatmeal but it was only met with audible groans from the little people here. Anyway, the point is I wanted to give it a second chance to be liked and here’s what I came up with:

Oatmeal Pancakes 

3/4 cup oat flour (about 1 cup of old fashioned oats ground to a fine powder in your blender works here)

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

2 Tbs. sugar

3 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

3 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1-1/2 cup soy milk

1 cup cooked oatmeal

2 Tbsp. maple syrup

1 banana

Whisk dry ingredients in a medium bowl. In a blender combine remaining ingredients together until smooth. Add wet mixture to dry and mix until just blended. Make your pancakes!

We eat a lot of pancakes in our house and I have to say these were spectacular. Recipe adapted from here.So I actually had about 2 cups of this stuff leftover, the pancakes got rid of half of it so I moved on to this:

Oatmeal Bread

1 cup soy milk

2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup barley flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 Tbsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 Tbsp. cinnamon-sugar for sprinkling on top after you have added batter to the baking dish

Mix soy milk and vinegar well and set aside. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Mix oatmeal and soy milk mixture (I used the blender because my oatmeal was very cold, old and lumpy!) and add to the dry, mixing until just combined. This will be a very thick batter. Put batter into a lightly greased 8×8 pan, sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar and bake for 25 minutes in a 375 degree oven. This recipe was adapted from here.

This is really somewhere between a coffee cake and quick bread but is not overly sweet. In fact it is perfect for breakfast. I will greatly enjoy watching my kids gobble this down without them having a clue they are eating their once rejected oatmeal, I win!

