Tags

, ,

I have made several failed attempts in the course of my life to be a collector. The only success I have had is with dust bunnies, if fact I have so many of them I need to store some under the dresser, some under the couch and the rest I keep behind the door in our TV room. I also seem to collect a lot of waffle recipes. This one came from here and was really, really good:

Whole Grain Waffles with Cherry Sauce

for the sauce:

2 cups fresh or frozen pitted cherries (I used that big jar of cherries they have at Trader Joe’s)

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup agave nectar

2 tsp. cornstarch

1 tsp. fresh lemon juice

1 tsp. vanilla extract

for the waffles:

2 Tbsp. ground flax seed

3 Tbsp. soy milk or water

2 cups soy milk

2 Tbsp. lemon juice

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1/2 cup cornmeal (I think millet flour would be nice here also)

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1 tsp. vanilla extract

First preheat your waffle iron.

Make the sauce by combining all sauce ingredients in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Whisk sauce for about a minute or until it begins to thicken, remove from heat.

For the waffles, first make your flax egg by mixing ground flax seed and 3 Tbsp. water or milk in a small bowl, mix it really good until it becomes thick and gelatinous, set aside. Next, make your buttermilk by mixing the soy milk and lemon juice, set aside. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. To the soy milk add the flax mixture, brown sugar, oil and vanilla and combine. Add the wet to the dry ingredients mixing until just combined. Make your waffles and top with cherry sauce.

 

 

