Tags

, , , , , , ,

I get dissed in the lunch department almost on a daily basis. Brian takes the dinner leftovers to work, the kids get their lunch requests filled everyday (thank goodness for Dylan who has eaten the same lunch everyday since pre-school!) and I get left with whatever I can scrape together. Lately I have been keeping around a few of those dried soups that you just add water to which are decent tasting but very high in sodium and a little on the pricey side. So I decided to make my own, lunch is after all a real meal, why not get out a pot and eat something tasty. Here’s my take on the lentil couscous variety, I used bulgur because I am out of couscous but I think I prefer this combo, couscous would be tasty too though.

Indian Spiced Lentil and Bulger Soup

1/2 onion, finely diced

2 carrots, finely diced

6 cups vegetable broth or water (I used half broth, half water)

1 tsp. garam masala

1 tsp. curry powder

1 cup brown lentils, rinsed

1/2 cup bulgur

salt and pepper to taste

Add 1/2 cup broth to a medium pot and bring to a simmer over medium high heat. Add onion and carrot and saute in broth until soft, you may need to add more broth if the pan dries out. Add spices and cook for a minute or two more. Add remaining broth and bring to a boil, add lentils and return to a simmer. Cover and let simmer until lentils are just becoming soft, about 15 minutes. Add the bulgur and continue to simmer for about 10 more minutes or until bulgur and lentils are both soft. I like my soup really thick so you may want to add a cup or 2 more of broth or water to make it thinner.

This will make several servings, I’ll probably have enough for the whole week!

