Tags

, , , ,

We all struggle to make some tough choices in our lives, never really knowing if we are making the right one. We often go back and forth between following what our head says and what our hearts say. A very tough choice I am confronted with about every six months is whether I like Fall more or Spring. I know, it can be a heart wrenching choice people just shouldn’t have to make. Whenever I am asked what my favorite season is (hey, this is Oregon, that’s the kind of stuff we talk about here!), I always say Fall. Before moving here I had never experienced Fall, sure the calender said it was fall but things never looked any different. Fall in Oregon is not something you can’t even describe to someone who hasn’t seen it…beautiful, just beautiful. Then every year comes Spring and my devotion to Fall is tested. I am bombarded with daffodils, tulips, cherry blossoms, magnolia trees…you name it. Everywhere you look blossoms and buds, it’s rough I tell ya. Maybe there is no right answer, maybe I should tell spring and fall what I tell my kids when they ask me which one of them I like better…(“I like you both in your own special way”, this drives them crazy!).

Anyway, this was an easy choice:

” Should I make cookies today or not?”

Um, yeah…

Fruit and Nut Cookies

(recipe adapted from here)

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup walnuts

1-1/2 cups rolled oats

1/3 cup whole wheat or other whole grain flour (I used a combo of oat and buckwheat)

1/2 cup ground flax seeds

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:

1/2 cup nut butter of your choice ( I used Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Almond Butter)*

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup agave nectar or maple syrup

1/3 cup Sucanat or brown sugar

1 banana

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Fold in:

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup chopped roasted almonds

In a food processor or blender grind your walnuts into a finely ground flour, and transfer them to a medium size bowl. Add the remaining dry ingredients to the bowl and mix well.

Again in the food processor or blender combine all the wet ingredients and blend until smooth. Add this mixture to the dry and mix until just combined, then fold in the cranberries and nuts.

Using about a Tbsp. of dough per cookie, roll the dough into balls (the dough will be fairly sticky) and flatten using the bottom of a wet glass or measuring cup.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 8-10 minutes, letting the cookies stay on your baking sheet for a couple of minutes before transferring to a rack to completely cool.

* What!, you don’t make your own nut butter??? I swear people are so lazy these days…Anyway, I am now totally addicted to it after discovering this blog. All you need is a food processor and a boat load of nuts, it’s really that easy!

