Tags

, , , , ,

Let me apologize in advance here, but I don’t know what this cake is. I’m not sure if this is a banana cake with apples or an apple cake with bananas (kind of like the age old question about zebras, are they white with black stripes or black with white stripes?) Either way it’s good stuff.

But speaking of apologies, I really enjoyed this article about belated apologies and have spent quite a bit of time recently thinking about everyone I have wronged (fun, I know). Of everything I came up with what I feel worst about is the way I dismissed my 2 cats when I had babies. They used to live the high life (they actually used to lie on our dining room table…while we were eating…eeww!) Then the human children came and they were relegated to the back yard and were lucky if they got fed everyday. I really am sorry for the way they were treated and I regret not trying to find them a home where they could get the attention they deserved sooner.

Anyway, now on to the cake!

Apple Banana Cake  (Vegan)       

Dry ingredients:

2-1/2 cups flour (I used half spelt and half whole wheat pastry flour)

3 Tbsp. soy flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Wet ingredients:

2/3 cup agave nectar

1/2 cup almond milk

2 Tbsp. ground flax seed

2 sliced frozen bananas

1/4 cup almond butter

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Fold in:

1-1/2 cups chopped, peeled apple (about 2 medium apples)

Glaze:

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 Tbsp. almond butter

1-2 Tbsp. almond milk

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. Mix all wet ingredients in a food processor or blender until completely smooth, this could take several minutes of processing. Add wet mixture to the dry mixing until well combined. Fold in the apples. Fill a prepared bundt cake pan with batter and bake for 35-45 minutes in a 350 degree oven, testing for doneness with a toothpick. Allow to cool in the pan for about 5 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely on a rack. Mix glaze ingredients and pour over cake allowing it to drizzle down the sides.

