Tags

I’m going nuts here. I’m going nuts, seeds and every kind of dried fruit I can think of to be exact. I made this granola last week in an attempt to clean out my cupboards a little bit, I had accumulated quite an assortment of odds and ends and figured granola was a good way to pare things down. Well, funny thing is (funny not in a humorous way, but in a kinda sad way)  I was successful in ridding myself of my nut and dried fruit collection but this stuff was so good that I subsequently had to go back and acquire more of the same ingredients to make more! It’s an endless cycle I tell you…

Mix the following in a large bowl:

2 cups rolled oats

3 Tbsp. millet

3 Tbsp. ground flax seed

1 Tbsp. chia seeds

1/3 cup shredded coconut

1/3 cup sliced almonds

1/3 cup chopped pecans

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

3 Tbsp. sunflower seeds

Mix the following in a small bowl:

1/4 cup almond butter

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

3 Tbsp. vegetable oil

Combine wet mixture with the oat mixture until everything is coated. Spread in a thin layer on a prepared baking sheet, sprinkle with a few dashes of ground cinnamon. Bake in a 300 degree oven for about 20 minutes, stirring halfway through. Allow to cool for about 10-15 minutes and add in the following:

1/3 cup finely chopped dried apricots

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup finely chopped dried apple

3 Tbsp. finely chopped crystallized ginger (this is the best part!)

Store in an airtight container.

