Tags

, , , , , ,

I guess it’s no secret that I have a bit of a “muffin problem”. I daydream about muffins, I want to turn everything I eat into a muffin, the infinite possible flavor combinations of the muffin makes my head spin, it would seem I just can’t get enough of them. However, that doesn’t keep me from periodic fraternizations with the muffin’s closest relative: the snack cake. The snack cake lies somewhere between the muffin and cake, not fully committing to either category.  It’s such a flexible snack, you can have a little bite as you are passing by or a huge slab (bear in mind a little bite every time you pass by equals a huge slab), it can be a dessert, it can be breakfast, it can be whatever you want it to be! So meet my friend the Applesauce Raisin Snack Cake…

Applesauce Raisin Snack Cake

Dry ingredients:

2 cups flour (I used 1 cup spelt and 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour)

1-1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

dash of ground cloves

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

Wet ingredients:

1/4 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

Fold in:

1 cup raisins

Combine dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl. Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl. Add wet ingredients to the dry mixing only until just combined. Fold in raisins and spread mixture into a prepared small square baking dish. Bake for about 22-26 minutes, checking for doneness with a toothpick.

 

