Tags

, , , , , ,

I struggle with the anonymity of blogging, some people are happy to share way more information than necessary, while some won’t reveal so much as their name. But either way it’s so hard to get a feel for who people really are. I like to know people and I like them to know about me and where I’m coming from but most of this information can not be conveyed in a contextual manner through babbling on about recipes. Objects say so much about a person, the first thing I do when entering someone’s house for the first time is look at their stuff. What’s on their mantle, their bookshelves, their walls says so much about a person. In an effort to connect I will share some of my objects, totally randomly selected by the way.

1. I know what you’re thinking,”what, she owns a Picasso!” Okay, so it’s not exactly a Picasso, but it is an awesome piece that my daughter stunned us all with in first grade and frankly rivals anything ‘ol Pablo ever churned out.

2. This clearly requires no explanation.

3. Has anyone ever had any luck with sprouting avocado pits? I’m hoping to start an avocado orchard as my second career, or not.

Now that you know everything there is to know about me, here’s a recipe!

Apple Date Bars

for the filling:

1/2 cup chopped dates

3/4 cup chopped dried apple

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1 Tbsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. finely grated lemon zest

for the crust:

1/2 cup whole almonds

1-1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup oats

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/3 cup coconut oil (room temperature)

1/3 cup agave nectar or pure maple syrup

In a shallow saucepan over medium heat simmer the dates, apples, water and maple syrup until most of the liquid has evaporated, about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and add the lemon juice and zest, set aside.

In your food processor or blender, grind almonds into a crumbly meal then add flour, salt, baking soda, and oats pulsing a few times to get it all mixed together. Add the agave and coconut oil and pulse a few more times until you get a nice moist crumbly mixture. Reserve 1 cup of the mixture and firmly  press the remaining into the bottom of a prepared 8 in. square pan.  Spread filling mixture on top and sprinkle the reserved 1 cup of crust mixture on top leaving it crumbly. Bake for 15-20 minutes in a 400 degree oven. Let cool slightly before cutting and removing from the pan.

