Tags

, , , , , ,

My dear friend Jenna said this cake was really good and suggested I try a vegan version. Um….chocolate? cake?…don’t need to ask me twice. I went right to work and came up with this super moist, rich yet light, mmm delicious delight. I am really loving the dried fruit/coffee/flax mixture that I used in the fig date bread so I used that here too. I used cherries here but you could also try prunes or raisins. If you want to keep it simple I think a light dusting of powdered sugar would be perfect on top versus a glaze or frosting. The original recipe has a basic powdered sugar/vanilla/milk icing which would be nice also.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

dry ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup cocoa powder

3/4 cup sugar

1-1/2 tsp. baking soda

1-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

wet ingredients:

2 Tbsp. flax meal

1/2 cup warm water

1 cup freshly brewed hot coffee

1/2 cup dried cherries

1/4 cup light oil (I use safflower)

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 cup non-dairy yogurt

Mix all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl and set aside.

In a small bowl combine the hot coffee and dried cherries and allow to sit for a few minutes. In your blender combine flax meal and water and blend for about 1-2 minutes. Add the coffee/cherry mixture and blend until fairly smooth. Add the oil, brown sugar, yogurt and vanilla and blend again until smooth. Add this mixture to the dry and mix until just combined. Pour batter into a prepared bundt cake pan and bake for 45-55 minutes at 350 degrees. Allow to cool for about 10 minutes before removing from the pan, then let it cool completely on a rack.

Icing:

3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/4 cup agave nectar

Microwave chocolate and agave for 30 seconds, stir and if necessary put back in for another few seconds until mixture is melted. Add more agave if you would like more of a drizzle versus a spreadable frosting.

recipe adapted from EatingWell.com

