Tags

, , , , , , ,

History has a way of repeating itself, doesn’t it? The whole time we were strawberry picking last Tuesday I kept saying “I think we have enough, remember the time we came back with 12 pounds of berries and had to throw half of them out?” Well, I guess we did a little better this time coming back with only six and a half pounds. What does one do with six and a half pounds of strawberries, exactly?

1. First off I took about half and quartered them (these berries are all very small) and sprinkled them with a few tablespoons of sugar and put them in the fridge. They will keep for several days this way and are a great topping for pancakes, waffles or just about anything for that matter.

2. Most of the other half went immediately to the freezer, this stash will last for a couple of weeks, maybe. Try this super easy sorbet recipe, so refreshing and you don’t even need an ice cream maker!

3. We are big smoothie people here, if fact next to “what’s for dinner?”, “can I have a smoothie?” is probably the question I am most often asked on any given day. This one is: 1 cup green tea (cooled), 1-1/2 cups fresh squeezed orange juice (about 4 oranges), 1-1/2 cups frozen strawberries, 1-1/2 cups frozen bananas, 2 Tbsp. agave nectar, 1/4 cup almond butter. Yum!

4. I couldn’t help but pile this wonderful cake high with juicy strawberries, let me just say this was delicious.

So, what are you doing with your strawberries so far this summer?

