Tags

, , , , , ,

I make a big batch of pancakes at least once a week and keep them in the fridge so I can pop them in the toaster in the morning for breakfast. This is such a batch of pancakes. I am attempting to add some gluten-free recipes to my repertoire and I must say these are downright delicious, gluten-free or not, possibly my new favorite.

Buckwheat Pancakes

dry ingredients:

1 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup oat flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

wet ingredients:

1/4 cup flax meal

1/2 cup hot water

1 large ripe banana, sliced

2 Tbsp. pure maple syrup

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1-1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I use almond)

Combine the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl and set aside.

In your blender on high speed combine the flax and hot water, blend for about 1 minute. Add the banana, oil, syrup and milk blending until smooth. Add wet mixture to the dry, mixing until well combined. Allow this to sit for a few minutes while you heat your griddle or skillet. Pour batter on to lightly greased skillet flipping once edges begin to dry and bubbles appear on the pancakes. This should make about 12 fairly large pancakes.

Hey, look at my (so!) yummy Blueberry Corn Muffins!

