Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Boy ooh boy, this summer vacation thing is kicking my butt this year. Moments of down time have been few and far between but I did want to quickly share this delicious salad recipe. I have long been skeptical of the combining of fruits and vegetables in salad. Fruit salad? Love it! Salads packed with every veggie known to man? One of my favorite things to eat. Putting the two together? Not so much. This salad however proved to be the exception to the rule. I got a dandy little coupon book from Fred Meyer last week that had this recipe in it and I thought I would give it a try. The original recipe calls for feta but I subbed some cashew cheese, it was so good! With some buckwheat flat bread on the side it was the perfect summer meal.

Heirloom Tomato and Watermelon Salad (4-6 servings)

dressing ingredients:

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tsp. salt

black pepper to taste

salad:

1 medium to large English cucumber peeled, quartered and sliced

1/2 small red onion, sliced paper thin

10 oz. heirloom tomatoes, chopped (I used the mini ones they sell at Trader Joe’s and just halved those)

1 large red, orange or yellow bell pepper, chopped

2 cups cubed cashew cheese

1 cup fresh herbs (I used parsley, basil and mint)

Mix dressing ingredients and set aside.

Combine salad ingredients in a large bowl and mix in dressing.

We had these awesome chocolate covered macaroons from the Flying Apron baking book for dessert. Yum!

