Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For the past several months I have been eating some version or another of a breakfast bread, this is the latest variety and I think I may stick with this one for a while. On top I add a smattering of nut butter, sliced banana and a sprinkle of chia seeds, the perfect breakfast. Now, I have no clue how readily available quinoa flakes are in the rest of the world because I live a mere 15 minutes drive away from the Bob’s Red Mill store where every grain known to man can be purchased in any quantity. The original recipe calls for cooked quinoa so that is another option (if using, reduce to 1/2 cup cooked) but I love quinoa flakes because they practically disappear when baked into something so I can avoid the “does this have quinoa in it?” question that I will often get from my daughter (aka the quinoa police) when I am trying to smuggle whole grains into baked goods.

Blueberry Quinoa Cornbread

wet ingredients:

2 Tbsp. ground flaxseed

6 Tbsp. warm water

1 smallish banana

3/4 cup non-dairy milk

3 Tbsp. agave nectar or pure maple syrup

dry ingredients:

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup quinoa flakes (or 1/2 cup cooked quinoa)

1/2 cup buckwheat or oat flour (or whole wheat pastry flour)

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon (optional)

top with:

1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

combine flax and water in a blender or food processor and blend for about 1 minute, add remaining wet ingredients and process until smooth.

combine all dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl, add wet mixture from the blender and mix until just combined.

pour batter into a prepared 8 or 9 inch cast iron skillet or round cake pan and top with the blueberries. Allow batter to sit for about 5 minutes before putting in the oven. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes, allow to cool slightly before cutting.

Recipe adapted from Quinoa Blue Cornbread recipe in Color Me Vegan

